New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by yebo View Post

I personally call it the Mig 15 philosophy. Why make something to last 10000 flying hours when it will get shot down after just 2 months? So the russians made the engines to last for just 100 hours, then made many hundreds of them.

sabi nga ni stalin: quantity has a quality all its own

2. Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by danegoesonline View Post
    Im a Grab Driver and after I drop the passenger off I am turning off the engine to save fuel consumption, after 5-10 minutes I will start it again. Is this ok? Am I shortening any parts of my car? Please help, I will appreciate it very much.
    First observe your tachometer every time you start your car..note how high it goes (X rpm). Then observe your idle rpm (Y rpm).

Using ratio and proportion..X:Y you can deduce the number of minutes your idling engine matches the starting engines fuel consumption. 2000rpm:800rpm=2.5:1 ratio. To save fuel you need to anticipate the number of minutes you need to run idle and compare it to the ratio you get. If you will idle more than 2.5 minutes then you will save fuel by turning off your engine. If you will run idle in less than 2.5 minutes then you wont save fuel by turning off the engine because your car will gulp more fuel as you start your engine again

Every car has different oil so starting rpm is different on every car. So my ratio and proportion example could differ on each car you own. Thick oil are harder to start than thin oil so it would consume more fuel to start an engine

Now on what will be commonly affected component of your car if you frequently start an engine. Its the battery, thats why battery manufacturers cut the warranty period for commercial vehicles to just 6 months.