New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    May 2011
    Hi guys,

I've lurked around your forum for the past couple of weeks. I have seen some of your colorful and some very helpful exchanges. I hope you guys can do the same for me. I have been a public transport commuter ever since. One of the items in my bucket list is to own a car. I've been doing calculations and recalculations over and over and I think I now have enough to get my very first car. This is where I need your help with. I will rely heavily on your experience since I have none of my own.

I know you need some things to work with to give a good recommendation so here are some additional information for you.

- Driving background. I've driven before (self-taught), but that was maybe 15 years ago. I used to "borrow" our old owner jeep without my moms consent and drove it around for weeks every midnight before I got busted by my mom. I am now taking proper lessons from a driving school to prepare more accordingly.

- Budget. Maximum of 850,000 Pesos. I have enough to cover 50% of the total car cost, and the rest will have to be bank finance. For 3, maximum of 4 years.

- Fuel efficiency. This would be my top priority. If i can get one of the most fuel efficient cars within the budget then great. I dont really mind if the models are the same used for taxi's. I understand there are variants that make them different. With my budget, I can ill afford to be choosy.

- Transmission preference. Im leaning towards automatic just because of the ease. But in the driving school, ive requested both manual and automatic mainly because of fuel efficiency again. Is the manual still very far ahead of the automatic in terms of fuel consumption? If it is, then I will have to really "master" manual.