New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Sep 2009
    hi! im a newbie here. been contemplating the past weeks if it's time for me to get a car. i'm still not fully decided, i joined the forum so i can see different opinions.

im a single 29yo doctor. we have a family car (1990's toyota corolla) which nobody uses. i do not want to use this because i feel its not reliable anymore. my boyfriend has a car that we use. i do not have any problems commuting (im used to it) except when it is raining, hard to get public transportation and i hate inhaling pollution. my "future" work is about 7 kilometers away from home and is easily commutable. other factors that makes me think of buying a car is it is for my own safety and comfort, save myself from situations where i might share the same public ride with my patients (alam nyo naman, status symbol is important if your a doctor in Manila), and perhaps a milestone for me before i reach age 30.

i have savings enough to buy a brand new car but thinking of getting a second hand instead so that i still have savings left with me. i can also pay half of a brand new car then pay installments in 18months, God willing he provides for me. second hand also, so if i change my mind i can easily dispose without losing too much! my boyfriend doesn't want me to buy a car instead get a place like a condo. some friends tells me get a new car, others just second hand since i'll just use it to and from work and konting lakad on the side. FYI, i knew how to drive a long time ago, im just tamad and hot headed kaya hate driving sometimes.

pls post your opinions. the pros and cons. should i get bnew or 2nd hand will suffice? what kind of car will i get? greatly appreciate it.

2. Join Date
    Feb 2009