New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
  1. Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by oj88 View Post
    Retrofitting this safety feature on a vehicle that doesn't have it is not a bad idea. However, it does take some skills and is not for everyone to do.
    Agree!

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

2. Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by bonruiz View Post
    I read my Suzuki Ertiga's Owner's Manual and it instructs the user to push the clutch (while on neutral) before starting the engine. I have been doing that for four years and I think it's safe for the car since it's in the user's manual.

Although not everyone at the casa does that.

Thank you very much.
    many drivers who have had the unpleasant experience of kadjot, learn to step on the clutch before turning the key.
    the clutch is designed to be stepped on, naman.

3. Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by dr. d View Post
    many drivers who have had the unpleasant experience of kadjot, learn to step on the clutch before turning the key.
    the clutch is designed to be stepped on, naman.
    What I was taught is to depress the brakes, put the gear in neutral then start the engine.

Since it was just an assembled vehicle, it has no parking brake. Later on with experience, it became a habit even if I'm using a car with handbrake.

My experience, or rather the experience of others, with some of them I have personally seen, not to rely on the handbrake. I've seen a couple of them, where the handbrake didn't work and so caused a lot of damage. One hit a store on the opposite side of the road, one hitting the walls of the garage, and others I couldn't remember.