New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by boybi View Post
    NAS really isn't an option. The data file need a host PC for it to be accessed. I already have a Western Digital NAS and I really can't use it for this purpose.

Are there Atom motherboards with RAID capability?
    Not sure. But the ones I have used didn't have RAID capability.

Our office server has a native SATA RAID on the motherboard but it's a typical ATX type Pentium4 Dual Core motherboard. I was specific in requiring SATA RAID capable motherboard when setting it up.

HDD mirroring is done as a backup but primary back up is still done by copying the data to USB flash drives everyday.

2. Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by ghosthunter View Post

It might have been many years since I have been a computer network tech but I think I am not suggesting a battleship to patrol a small river.
    it seems that you have acquired a habit of giving snide remarks... tsk.....

i think there is a term for that... flaming?

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by badsekktor View Post
    it seems that you have acquired a habit of giving snide remarks... tsk.....

i think there is a term for that... flaming?
    Come on, it doesn't take much to know that what you were suggesting was overkill from the start. You already read the initial post YET you would go suggesting an enterprise level server where a simple file server built on an ordinary PC would be more than sufficient?

I might make side comments but based on what was already posted in this thread, your "suggested" setup is still an overkill. Maybe you should have known better even before suggesting it at all.

If you are offended by my comment, send it to boybi to see what he thinks.
    Last edited by ghosthunter; July 24th, 2009 at 04:35 PM.