New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    May 2012
    Hi, I'm new here and starting to love cars.

I'll get straight to my point. I'm thinking of starting a racing career and will start this career path as a hobby, I'm 21(I don't actually think it's too late for me to start unless I'll go for formula 1 then I can forget it) I'd like to compete in regional competitions first then in the future maybe, I'll go for either GT or Touring car competitions.

I'm planning to attend racing school as well (TRS) and currently finding a job in automotive industry.

I'm a newbie in the sport though I've tried karting and it took me 2 months to realize this dream and I need some advice on how to start it.

thank you in advance.

P.S I know how to drive haha

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    First things first: You'll need funding... lots of it. The addage of "how do you make a small fortune with racing is to start with a large one" is still quite true.

With your stock car, learn about it. Being a mechanic is quite a experience so you also know what makes the vehicle tick and not. This will make you more knowledgeable later on when you want to fine tune things.

A good venue is to also try those RWYB (Run-what-you-brung) type races where you can run with your stock vehicle given it's in good condition and you meet the basic safety rules and requirements. It's bracket time racing so you can just keep your car running in the brackets it is most apt for.

Racing lessons or performance driving lessons first before modifying your car or setting foot all-out on the track. Try looking into the programmes available by the driving/racing schools.