New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Atorni, bakit ka nandadamay?

“There comes a point where making a point is pointless. And reckless.” - Philip Gilmore

The University of the Philippines (UP) banned the screening of the “Innocence of Muslims” to ensure the safety and security of everyone on its campus. But a human rights lawyer and constitutional law lecturer at the UP would have none of it. He defied the ban and screened the movie for his class, as a teaching tool on the freedom of expression. Damn the torpedoes!

Or as he put it, “As an academic, as a lawyer, I cannot allow rights to be infringed upon. I am in perfect discharge of my duties as a law professor and I'm willing to take whatever consequence.” Eh damn the torpedoes nga!

Alright, so he wanted to make a point about the freedom of expression. But there’s a point where making a point is pointless. And reckless.

So what if he had no intention of adding to the Muslims’ rage, that he was only standing up for the freedom of expression. The purity of his intentions does not matter because there is an equally important issue that cannot be ignored.

There is an offended party involved and he is very angry. He cannot be put aside, asked to hold his anger in check, while the lawyer-professor, to make a point about freedom of expression under our Constitution, screens a movie that slanders Muhammad.

He knew that Muslims in over 20 countries reacted violently to the movie, and 30 people have died so far. So why did he have to risk riling local Muslims who have displayed admirable restraint so far? Why test the limits of their tolerance?