New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
  1. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by abort_retry View Post
    hmmm.... the manual says to get the level when engine is off. a mechanic would also say to read the level when engine is off. oil sump is oil sump. the upper portion of the engine needs oil for lubrication.
    i am a mechanic.

and what exactly do you mean by "oil sump is oil sump. the upper portion of the engine needs oil for lubrication"? i hope you are not suggesting that i do not know what i wrote. or is it the other way around, that you did not understand what was written?

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Pssst Yebo,
    Easy bro Eaasssyy...hehehe.

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    ok, easy. inhale, exhale...

4. Join Date
    Mar 2003
    yup...ill have to agree with yebo...could be excess blow-by...mine is like that too...upper portions of the dip stick is also wet with oil although you can still see the reading on the max and min marking. This started when i started seeing blow by signs like vapor coming out of the dip tube (parang takure), been like that for the past year or so but no oil consumption so im still happy.

5. Join Date
    Dec 2005
    i am not saying that you are wrong sir... yes you can get the reading when it is on... but is it accurate? i would say the best and accurate time to get the reading is when the engine is off...

i am not a mechanic but i diy stuff myself. i read manuals, the internet, ask help from mechanics. i already have opened a mitsubishi diesel engine on my big generator set with the help of a mechanic. i have worked on V6 and V8 engines mechanically staying away from anything electronics on my USDM vehicles. if its complicated, i bring my vehicle to the dealership pointing to them that this is the problem. so i think i can say that i am also inclined mechanically.