New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    paano ba ito?
    pwede bang sa bahay lang ito?
    paano ba maging transcriptionist
    please explain it to me like im a 5 year old...

TIA

2. Join Date
    Sep 2004
    my friend used to do that. he said, he listens to procedures from doctors and he just types up what the doctor says. I heard people can do this at home.

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    I'm not yet a medical transcriptionist (MT), but I'm studying to become one.

What an MT does is download a voice file from a secure server, which he then listens to, encodes, and sends back to the server as a Word or text file. The voice file contains a dictation from a doctor in the US, which could either be a summary of a patient's chart, clinical findings, post-operative reports, diagnosis, or other medical documents concerning patient care.

You could do transcription from your home if you have the right equipment (quality headphones and usually a foot pedal for controlling the pause, play, rewind and forward functions of your audio software) and the proper contacts who will give you work.

You usually become a transcriptionist by taking a medical transcription course, which can take a few months to complete. There are many MT schools in the Metro Manila area, but since I'm in the province, I'm taking my course online.

Key traits that a home-based MT must possess: above average grasp of the English language, vast knowledge of medical terms and their correct spelling, meticulous attention to detail (OC people would probably excel here), a keen ear that is able to understand various American accents, loads of motivation and self-discipline.

4. Join Date
    Dec 2002
    In as far as qualifications are concern, eto po yung sa amin...