New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    May napanood akong feature sa National Geographic a few days ago about using used vegetable oil in a diesel engine. They are using pure vegetable oil with their engine, no diesel!

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    It really shouldn't surprise us that a diesel engine could run on pure vegetable oil since it was initially designed to run on peanut oil when the engine was first invented.

3. Join Date
    Jan 2006
    I thought the diesel engine was first designed to run on coal dust.

4. Join Date
    Sep 2007
    I saw an episode of Dirty Jobs sa Discovery Channel yesterday. Merong detailed step by step procedure sila. Cheaper pa raw kaysa sa local electricity provider nila. I saw their equipment and parang kayang kaya natin ( I used to be a chemical engineering student until 4th year). Sana magawan natin ng paraan. Used cooking oil ang raw material nila and I believe cost effective once we implement it. Di naman kamahalan ang mga gamit na nakita ko.

5. Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Hmmm.... I could use one of those at home.

I'd go for WVO over regular biodiesel.

Growing crops specifically to produce biodiesel leaves less farm resources to produce food, whereas WVO is a by-product, so you're not actually taking anything away from anybody.

The problem is, there isn't enough WVO to run all the cars on the road... but for the lucky few who own their own restaurants... it might be enough to get through the week.

Ang pagbalik ng comeback...

6. Join Date
    Sep 2007
    I forgot to mention that they referred to the used vegetable oil that has already been processed as Bio Diesel. The waste matter after processing was glycerine, which I believe is a raw material for a lot of things (toothpaste, etc. . . )

7. Join Date
    Nov 2005