New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Hi! this is my first time to post but I've been reading the forums for quite some time now. Just want to ask for some advice regarding what car we should buy. I'm choosing among honda civic 1.8S, mazda3 1.6V and a toyota altis 1.6E. Since the altis is mejo luma na, it's cheaper and hence I'll be able to buy accessories for it like fog lamps, spoiler, skirts, grill, leather seats. Appreciate your help on what to buy. Thanks!

2. Join Date
    Sep 2004
    tough decision to make, sir :-) read na lang kayo mga threads here about your car choices. check out din yung Mazda 6 ... goodluck sa purchase nyo.

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    what is your actual budget?...

4. Join Date
    Nov 2002
    cicv 2k6 :D

5. Join Date
    Aug 2004
    If those are his choices, I don't think his budget will extend to a Mazda6 :lol:.

I'd say... all three are very good cars. The Mazda3 has the edge in looks, space and handling, but it gets lower fuel economy than a Corolla 1.6 AT (though the engine does "loosen up" after a few thousand kilometers). The new Civic 1.8 will have good power and looks on its side... can't comment on how it is spacewise versus the Altis or Mazda3, though, I haven't seen them all together. The Altis is oldest, yes, but as you've said, there are a lot of dress up and aftermarket parts out for it. And its still a great car... good space, great fuel economy, stiffish but well controlled ride, decent handling and dynamics (though not as exciting as the Mazda) only negatives, as far as I'm concerned is the lack of a telescoping steering adjustment and the uninvolving driving experience... perfect commuter, though.