New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Dec 2005
    good evening, im new in the 4x4 scene. i recently bought a dmax, and i plan to take it off roading. a few friends of mine said i should have bought a suzuki vitara for my offroading hobby. what are the advantages and disadvantages? personally, im a big person, and i feel cramped on a small 4x4. however, as some friends have pointed out, smaller vehicles are better daw in the mountains. i saw a site at 4x4ph. however, im not very satisfied with the postings. thank you

2. Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Depends on how serious you would be in off roading. A number off roaders would recommend a rig equipped with solid (rigid) axles on both ends. Examples of this would be the Suzuki Samurai, Land Cruiser 40, 60, 70, and 80 series, Nissan Patrol, and Land Rover Defender. The DMAX has an IFS (Independent Front Suspension) set up. Vitaras, Pajeros, Troopers, and LC Prado (90 series) are also IFS equipped rigs. But its not to say that IFS equipped rigs won't perform well off road.

A small 4x4, such as the Samurai or Vitara, will be much lighter than big 4x4 rigs therefore one distinct advantage would be the lower weight of the rig. Mas madali ka makalusot sa mud holes. Disadvantage would be you won't be able to pack that much passengers and stuff into your rig.

I suggest you try out your rig's capabilities first before deciding what upgrades you want to undertake. The guys in 4x4ph.com goes on trails on a regular basis. Join one trail outing first. By the way, they're nice guys so they'll accomodate whatever query/ies you may have.

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    another rumor, the computer box ng dmax is under the driver side chair....pangit na location for water fording...very prone na mabasa.

4. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    jailguard,