New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 16 of 17 FirstFirst ... 6121314151617 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by luchi_bie View Post
    See my post just above yours. Akai and TEAC are the same product but Akai got slightly higher specs but per Jeff will yield same performance. Same lang ung quote niya for the two.

Improvement: way better from my stock speakers. Baka nga hinde na ako mag-amp/sub. Palit na lang ako HU.
    Sir, teac setup ba yun sayo? Pm naman ng price at details. Hehehe

2. Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Hey Guys,

I am a student, and to make my long drives to school a little more bearable, I decided to have my first audio system installed by Araneta Car Accessories. I gave Jeff Tan my budget (which isn't much since I don't have income yet hahaha) and he worked around it by installing a straight lightning lab set-up.

Unfortunately, the tweeters are a little bit too bright/loud (Cymbal crashes are too loud to the point of being painful on louder volumes?). I was wondering if anyone can give me advice on what I should have done.

Set-up:
    Lightning lab bullet tweeters (titanium-dome) mounted on the door
    Lightning lab raw driver
    Lightning lab 80X4 Amp
    Lightning lab 12" sub with ported box
    Pioneer head unit

From what I understand, the seps are on a passive crossover and the sub is being powered on bridged mode.

Through personal research, I have found a few possible solutions to make things better, but I would appreciate your advice since I am still a newbie when it comes to car audio.

Option 1: Install resistors or L-pad to lower the power that the tweeters receive. Will this be possible on my current set-up? Any ideas where I can get this done?

Option 2: Replace my Seps to something less harsh. Any suggestions on student budget friendly ones? Perhaps Targa X-series?