New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by userfriendly View Post
    The plastic top cracked bec the plastic is like a fuse for your radiator. Its designed to give incase of overheat to protect your head gasket.
    Upon reading this thread I can't help but reply because last Sunday, this is exactly wht happened to my car . I was navigating a winding uphill climb on a mountainous municipality - a route that i have never tried before. I could feel the strain on the engine as I sometimes downshift to 1st gear when i need all the torque i can get. I also shutoff the aircon. All the while, the temp gauge in the dash indicated normal, so there was no worry whatsoever on my mind.

Then i heard an explosion and steam was coming out of the hood. Upon opening the hood, i found the radiator plastic cover was broken; I picked up the broken piece few meters away. It was a classic example of overheat. Thank God my engine was okay.

So yesterday, I replaced my radiator. I also charged 2L coolant.

Now my question is: Why did my temperature gauge fail to indicate the hotness? Is my thermostat ok? So far, during cold start, the pointer is at "C" (cold), then after a while of driving, the pointer goes to around 25% to 40% mark but never from my experience did it exceed 40%. That's why nagulat nalang ako nang biglang sumabog.

My plan is to verify if my radiator fan does work. Am i right that it should start automatically once it senses the prescribed temperature?

Another concern is: once you experience an overheat, what should you be on lookout for? I was told that the cylinder head might have been damaged nd that one sign of this is bubbles in the radiator. So far naman, I couldn't see any bubbles when i cahrged water and let the engine run at idle. So does this mean, wla problema cylinder head and gaskets ko?