New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Sep 2013
    May nabasa ako sa ibang car forum para tumagal buhay ng automatic transmission. Pinagusapan kung dapat ba religiously gamitin honda aft brand lang or pwede other aft brands. Tapos may nagreply na interesting yung point nya.

Non-Honda Automatic Transmission Fluid??? - Page 3 - Honda-Tech
    I am a honda certified mechanic up to 1995. In 1991 I bought a new accord EX and have driven it to 250,000 miles now.

Every so often an Auto Trans will fail. As a mechanic repairing honda's for a living, I was told that the auto trans's lasted forever AS LONG AS you added an add-on filter on the transmission return line (from the radiator to the transmission). The problem was any failure or even pieces of metal floating round the the fluid woudl be pumped right back into the mechanical parts, causing scarring and fast wear.

I took that to heart and installed a filter after only 6 months and 5,000 miles.

I also used Honda ATF religiously, of course haveing it there for free made it a no brainer.

I drive my car hard every day for 21 years. I mean I use 50-75% throttle from most stops on most days for 15+ years. At the 220,000 point the transmission died.

I thought I had fried it, but when I took it apart (and I disassembled EVERYTHING) I found the wear was minimal on almost everything. I replaced the clutch packs, and rubber o-rings, and bearings... but mostly for peace of mind and safety. I did find a broken bearing and bits and pieces of the housing, but other than that, it looked very clean and nice.

It took me 6 months (ordering parts from Majestic honda and waiting for them to ship) but I got it back together. When I drove it, it had the same problem.