New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Hi,

Newbie here. Am looking to get a compact hatch and after looking around, the Swift seems to be the best deal if I go cash. I know the car is not perfect but is well regarded in general.

It won't be a family car. Will be used mostly for they city with occasional trips to destinations like Subic, Clark and Tagaytay.

Trying to decide between MT and AT. Fuel consumption is a consideration but so long as it will do at least 10 km/l, I'm happy.

How are parts and service? We've never owned a Suzuki before so I am unfamiliar with the dealers and parts costs. How expensive is routine maintenance compared to say toyota or honda?

I intend to hang on to the car for about 5 years so I'm doing all the research I can.

Thanks for any help/advice the members can provide!

Silva

2. Join Date
    Mar 2005
    i have a 2 year old swift a/t. i'm very happy with it and still believe i made the right choice getting it instead of the jazz or yaris. first thing that attracted me to the swift was it's uncanny resemblance to the mini cooper.

pros going for the swift would be looks, cbu japan and details like audio controls on leather wrapped steering wheel and electric hatch lock. very fun to drive and feels bigger than it's size would suggests. steering is pinpoint with good feedback.

i get around 15 km/l. daily drive is alabang to katipunan and back.

3. Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Ilang beses na akong nakasakay sa Swift ng officemate ko, and every time, my opinion is the same: deym, now THAT's a car.

The best thing about the Swift is that it's a Suzuki, and Suzuki offers free maintenance for the first two years of ownership; think of the money you can save which could go to upgrades/modifications. That fact alone gives it a very distinct edge over its competitors.