New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Dec 2008
    gud evening bros,
    i'm a newbie in this forum & this is my 1st post...my vehicle is a 97 nissan pathfinder pick-up 4x4 diesel (locally assembled), all stock including the original a/c compressor w/c is a calsonic...

The Problem is:
    the temp of the a/c vanishes when i'm caught in heavy traffic or have been driving the whole day...but as soon as i rev the engine or step on the gas to 3,000 rpm the temp comes back as if nothing happened...then the cold disappears again as soon as i get caught in traffic...this has been happening for a few mos now...need help as i can't afford to buy another compressor (w/c i think is still good) i think the problem lies in other systems of the a/c just don't know w/c part is it...pls help..thanx in advance!

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    low on freon?

3. Join Date
    Jan 2008
    condenser fan might not be working properly causing the system to build high pressure..

or your expansion valves are not working properly starving your ac system of refrigerant

4. Join Date
    May 2007
    If it doesn't blow cold at low engine speed or at stop it may be low on freon or it could be the fryer on it clogged up. It could be an A/C belt slipping, a faulty fan switch, a temperamental compressor or a defective fan. Among other problems. You should take it to an HVAC-trained technician to get a proper diagnosis.

5. Join Date
    Dec 2008
    thanx guys for ur reply...well the belts r all new including the condenser fan...i think i it could probably be the condenser...i just want to have at least a hint of what might be wrong before i go 2 a shop so coz usually they'll telll me to get a new compressor or install this & that at least w/ ur advises & i won't be spending hard earned cash on useless items that aren't really needed....more advises are welcome thanx again in advance

6. Join Date