New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jan 2009
    :hi: Hello, tsikoteers. I’m a newbie, and a noob about cars so any help from you guys would be greatly appreciated.

You see, my friend is considering on buying a car in the near future and I have been given the task of researching about it, meaning looking it up on the web.

I have been visiting the site a lot and have mostly been reading about cars we are interested in. I think the Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6 GLS CVT would be perfect for my friend, she would be a first time driver and possibly first time car owner.

Any advise on getting this particular car, a good dealer, and how we should go about buying one would be great and also, what do you guys think about getting one that’s pre-owned? Do you think it’s wise? And if you think its okay, do you know a place that sells this particular car?

Any help would be amazing. Thank you!

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    she's a first time car owner and driver? tell her to get a vios or a jazz.
    her other options would be a hyundai i10.

what does she prefer? an AT or an MT? a CVT kasi drives differently from the usual AT.

3. Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Oh. I had the impression a CVT is the same as an A/T. But yeah, she wants an automatic. She likes the Lancer, aesthetically she thinks it looks really nice and she wants something dependable since we both don't know anything about cars.

Thanks so much for the suggestions, I'll tell her about it ;)

4. Join Date
    Jul 2008
    since she's looking to buy a brand new car, any of the japanese brands would be a good choice. it'll all boil down to her personal preferences - wants and needs:

- looks (looks like the lancer's at the top of her list)
    - engine displacement (1.1, 1.3, 1.6, etc.). personally, i'd go for a 1.6. hindi masyadong malakas sa gas and nandyan ang power.