New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Jan 2008
    dear tsikoteers,

I badly need the your help! My family has a 4wd delica and it will soon undergo major engine changes and a transmission conversion from automatic to manual, also from 4wd it will be made into a 2wd. Here's the major issues I need help with;

1) Our mechanic has advised to change from our turbo 4d56 to a na one, since we're having a really hard time with the turbo engine. He even said that the hyundai's 2.5 liter diesel will be ok???

2) I'm no mechanic but i'm concerned if the engine( 4d56 na or hyundai's 2.5) with the mated transmission will be sufficient to drive the delica's body because it is fitted with the usual big tires that come with the 4wd variant?

3) if ever that the hyundai engine is not a good choice, which 4d56 type with manual transmission would u recommend? please specify the year model it came from and the price.

4) Has anyone tried converting their delica, from a 4wd automatic to a 2wd manual?

please respond soon because our delica is gonna go under the knife next week!

thanks and more power!

2. Join Date
    Jan 2006
    I used to know this surplus store in our province who converted all their 2.5 box type delica's to manual. I already forgot how they do it and from what tranny, but I remember tranny convertion was easier than a Pajero.

why change engine? sira na po ba? why not buy another surplus delica engine? atleast you are 100% sure fitting will not be a problem.

and try asking *
    delicaclubphils.proboards58.com

3. Join Date
    Jan 2008