New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Aug 2004
    It's worth it if you're doing a full stage I or a turbo set-up.

If it's just to test the effectivity of an intake or a set of headers, not very, unless you're the type who likes to know (I'm the same way).

Best is to test, install the modification on the spot, then retest on the same day. This makes the readings more consistent.

Ang pagbalik ng comeback...

2. Join Date
    Jul 2009
    [SIZE=2]To all who replied:

Many thanks!!!

Since I'm quite new to this, I'm amazed to know that you guys are ready to lend a hand.

Sorry if I sound like dimwit (please bear with me). I don't know if this is the right thread to start a new convo.

I'm planning to boost up my ride's HP, and I heard about doing the Stage 1. So that leads me to this query: what's included in Stage 1?

I have a Honda Civic VTI-S 02 A/T. I'm not sure if "performance upgrading" is suggested for A/T cars.

My apologies again if I'm posting a different topic here.

Thanks!

LonelyCivic[/SIZE]

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Typically stage 1 upgrade include intake and exhaust upgrades. Open element cone filter, short ram intake, headers, bigger exhaust pipes and freeflow muffler.

You can also advance the ignition timing by a few degrees (2 or so) to get more performance as well as using higher octane gasoline.

Gains would be minimal to slight. (Something like gains of 0 to 10hp max).

Improperly designed exhaust and intake can actually reduce HP or give no gains at all after spending all that money.

4. Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Hindi ba masama if your using an energy conserving oil such as the 5w-30 RP and magpa dyno ka? I mean yung tipong hanggang redline? I noticed kasi na there's a burnt smell whenever i do pedal to the metal sa altis namin ng mga almost 30 sec.

5. Join Date
    Oct 2002