New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Aug 2012
    I had my first brush with a corrupt traffic enforcer tonight. I was on my way home to Mandaluyong from Airport Road and turned right from the middle of the three-lane road when a traffic enforcer suddenly stopped me. I was charged with reckless driving because according to the enforcer, I should have been on the right-most lane. I reasoned very gently and humbly that I wasn't totally in the middle of the road, the street was dark, it was my first time to pass by the place and wasn't totally familiar with the roads, and I was a newly certified driver (all true). The pair of enforcers managed to apprehend about four more vehicles behind me.

The enforcer then reasoned that he could not let me go because there was a CCTV camera at the corner and that he would be the one paying the fine if I was let go. He asked for my license and my registration papers (I don't have a plate yet, having gotten the vehicle about two weeks ago). I gave him my license and the papers. Then he started saying that I would have to go to their office (it was around 7:30 p.m.) and that my vehicle would have to be impounded and that I had to pay P3,000 because I shouldn't be driving without a plate according to this Republic Act he was citing, plus P1,000+ for reckless driving. I said "What, are you serious?" Then he asked for my ID. I gave him my media ID (I'm a journalist).