New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Feb 2005
    I am getting a Fort which is arriving early next month. I have been driving an MT for the past 8 years and I have never driven an AT. Please help in giving me step-by step instructions on how to drive an AT and do include tips. Thank you and looking forward to your responses.

2. Join Date
    Dec 2007
    For starters, you'll only need to shift to Drive (D) and just use the accelerator to go forward, and of course to slow down gradually, ease up on it, or release it all the way depending on how slowly or quickly you want to slow down. Use the brake pedal, obviously, for quicker braking/stopping. In case you need to use engine brake, you may shift down from D to 3, or 2, or L, depending on your current speed (the gears have upper limits, so try to memorize them).

Obviously, to go backwards, shift to R. Remember to use the shift knob when shifting to and from R (Reverse) and P (park). You also need to press the shift knob when downshifting from D to 3, 3 to 2, 2 to L. You may shift safely from N to D and vice-versa even when the vehicle is in forward motion.

Read the manual for more driving tips...

Hope this helps...

3. Join Date
    Jun 2008
    i have the same queries about driving the a/t. How about the Do and Dont's tips in driving the auto tranny?
    im looking forward to your replies mga gurus, to avoid messing my a/t.
    TIA.

4. Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Sa Vios and Avanza manuals, sabi, bawal magtagal sa 2 at L (siguro, bawal din sa 3 ang Fortuner) kahit paakyat. Mag-o-overheat daw ang A/T transmission...