New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Jan 2007
    I picked this up from Berrima diesel center and consider it as a good read:

[SIZE=2]If you’re getting your diesel engine tuned or considering increasing the power of your diesel, it’s important to consider the exhaust gas air-fuel ratios (AFRs.) AFR is the mass ratio of air to fuel present in an internal combustion
    engine. It is an important measure for reducing pollution and performance tuning. AFR is commonly misunderstood,
    but it is extremely important if you are towing a heavy caravan or have a heavily loaded motorhome. I have many years experience in tuning. It is best said that a diesel begins to smoke when the AFR gets below 15-14:1 for a non-turbo and 16-15:1 for a turbo-diesel. Remember, a diesel doesn’t need a perfect AFR to run and operate, but a petrol engine cannot run much either side of its perfect AFR of 14.7. In a diesel, too much fuel (a low AFR) means smoke and engine heat. Not enough fuel (a high AFR) means clean running and lower engine temperatures. The following is a guide for tuning diesels. A non-turbo diesel, such as a Toyota Coaster with 1HZ engine, would generally be tuned in between 15-16:1. This means it is running just on the clean side of exhaust emissions. Any lower in AFR and it may begin to smoke. An aftermarket turbocharged diesel, such as a Toyota LC100 with 1HZ engine, would be best running at around 19-20:1 AFR or higher under full load. The reason for the higher[/SIZE][SIZE=2] and l[/SIZE]
    [SIZE=2]eaner (oxygen rich, fuel lean) AFR in this application of aftermarket turbo is so that you know the engine will last for a very long time at that exhaust gas level. While it turbos safely, it wasn’t made for turbocharging. A factory turbocharged diesel, such as a Toyota LC100 1HD-FTE or an Isuzu NSeries, would be running an AFR from new