New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Hi everyone!

Warning I'm a total car noob, I've only had my 2nd hand car since april of 2012, and it was in pretty bad shape when I got it.

Background:
    1. 1997 Kia Sportage
    2. newly changed oil, oil filter and atf (twice)
    3. new spark plugs, high tension wires
    4. had a compression test and low compression on valve #3 (compared to the other 3)
    5. Fuel: Caltex Silver Gasoline
    6. Transmission shifts fine up to 4th gear
    7. newly cleaned throttle body

Symptoms:
    1. Car is noticeably slower with A/C is turned on and with passengers, as in it takes 10-15 seconds before it accelerates above 40 km/h.
    2. Intermittent "pop" sound coming from exhaust.
    3. Medyo rough idle (around 750 rpm, 1000-1200 with AC on)

Description:

Starting the car is no problem, one click lang sya mag start. pero minsan pag naka reverse sya it would stumble and then stall, but not all the time. Under load with one passenger, the car suddenly loses most of its power, noticeable when accelerating on a high way from a stop. The speed would go to 20kmh with the gas pedal depressed half way to full (RPM stays on 2000 for a while), it shifts fine naman eventually pero it just takes a long time to go to around 60 (15-20 seconds).

The car runs a bit better without any load (a/c off, no passengers) pero hirap parin up hill, goes only about 20 kmh. Shifts fine and runs quite peppy on non-inclined roads.

Dilemma: