New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Nov 2006
    hi guys, im new with 4 wheels. i have a 4k engine on my owner type jeep, i have a question on what is the purpose of this hose attached to my carburetor, it seems like if i pulled if off, there is a very big difference on the idle, if unplugged it will cause a very low idle and the engine will stop, so i have to turn the idle screw a little bit to make the idle higher, im asking because i've been using this owner type jeep with this hose not plugged in, and someone noticed that it should be plug in to the carburetor.

what is the purpose of that hose? obviously it doesn't contain fuel in it.

the hose is pointed with yellow arrows attached form a device going to the carb.. what is that device encircled in yellow?

image attached below:

2. Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by exoskeleton View Post
    hi guys, im new with 4 wheels. i have a 4k engine on my owner type jeep, i have a question on what is the purpose of this hose attached to my carburetor, it seems like if i pulled if off, there is a very big difference on the idle, if unplugged it will cause a very low idle and the engine will stop, so i have to turn the idle screw a little bit to make the idle higher, im asking because i've been using this owner type jeep with this hose not plugged in, and someone noticed that it should be plug in to the carburetor.

the hose is pointed with yellow arrows attached form a device going to the carb.. what is that device encircled in yellow?

image attached below: