New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Hi guys! I am not sure if this is the correct section of the forums to post this as I think this is the closest section for my topic.

I need some advise regarding my case, it was my first time to buy a 2nd hand car and I have limited knowledge about the "deed of sale". I bought a 2nd hand car (3rd hand to be exact) from sulit last March, the seller has turned over all the documents such as the original O.R./C.R., a notarized deed of sale from the original owner to him (the seller) and a copy of an ID of the original owner. The deed of sale from him to me has not been made yet and the seller said that he will just process and give me the deed of sale when he is not busy, unfortunately he is always busy and can't commit time to complete the paper works so he advised me to make the deed of sale instead and just visit him to have him sign on the deed of sale I have prepared.

Now my question is, on the O.R./C.R. the name registered was still under the original owner's name and not under him (the seller), I asked the seller what name should I put on the deed of sale that I will be preparing since the one on the O.R./C.R. is still under the original owner's name, he said to put his name as the vendor. Is this the correct procedure? Because I am planning on transferring the owner of the vehicle to my name on the next registration which in on July. I asked one of my friend and he said that I will just attach the first deed of sale from the original owner to him and then the other deed of sale from him to me when registering and transferring of ownership.