New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Aug 2010
    I'm thinking of buying a car within the next quarter (or maybe half) of the year. My brother's kinda pressuring me to buy one since I kept on hogging my sister's Mazda 3 for over 3 years now.

In the end, I narrowed my entries into (ranked according to current preference):

1. Hyundai Sonata non-Premium (1.4m)
    2. Hyundai Sonata Premium (1.6m)
    3. Montero Sport 4x2 GLS-V (1.4m)
    4. Hyundai Genesis Coupe 3.8L A/T (1.9m)

There's a huge disparity over the prices, even I acknowledge that. Technically, my given budget (the ones my parents would shoulder) is somewhat in the tune of less than 1m (or the price of a 1.8S Civic). I'm wagering that I can increase that to the budget of the 1.3m CR-V while I'll spend for the excess.

For a brief background, I'm a working university student (I don't act like one) Working -- as a since-HS-investor and as an entrepreneur this coming summer. I am financially capable of financing the excess cash (which is why the Genesis Coupe is there). The thing here is that: I've become exceedingly price-conscious as I'd rather funnel the excess funds into my start up (how price-conscious? I offered to buy my sister's Mazda 3 at 500k but the excess 500k goes into my pockets and the 200k difference between Sonata Premium and non-premium got me thinking)

Dream-wise, I'll get a Hyundai Genesis Coupe since I dunno if I'll grow up to be that type of balding guy who drives a Porsche in the future or would be a self-actualized daddy driving family cars with the kids without caring what the others think. So I thought of living on a high for 5 years (coupe + twenties = WTF) and start worrying thereafter.