New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Hi Everyone, newbie here as I have literally have no one to talk to about this.

I want to purchase a new car preferably by cash. I have money saved but I am a bit short. I want my dad to sell off our 97 Honda Civic (our family's ONLY car na nakatengga lang) to help me finance a new car. Unfortunately, my dad is not giving me anything to work on. He said he "lost" the CR or DOS (not really remember what he said) but I kinda know that the car, despite being 14years old, is still under mortgage. Despite of numerous attempt to extract info, I am still clueless. Oh, I am an OFW, so I can only talk to him by chat.

The car still looks really neat inside and out. The problem has something to do with the engine, it is always overheating. I mean ALWAYS. I think with it, I can still sell it for 100k or something.

What do you recommend I should do? If its still under mortgage can we sell the car? What about selling it for parts? If its paid and he really lost the CR, can we get it? Is that enough?

I am not trying to bypass my Dad's stubbornness on this. I just want him to see the options so that he can see clearly the pros.

And I don't want to use my money to salvage the car. I don't like that car.

Thanks in advance!

2. Join Date
    Feb 2005
    If the car is still mortgaged, you can't sell it. At the least, you'd need to pay the necessary fees to release the incumbered CR. As to the "lost" CR, these is always a way to secure another original copy but it would require legwork.... and your dad's cooperation. If the CR is under his name then affidavits et al will have to be signed by him at the least.

3. Join Date
    Jun 2011
    I think at the back of my mind I kind of knew the answer to my questions. And what you said is exactly what it is.