New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 21 1234511 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Feb 2020
    We're looking to get our first car (for me and my father). What would be your recommendations?

This will be our first car and I am a complete noob. At first, I was planning to get the 2020 honda jazz with the intent of paying it full in cold hard cash.

But then after more research, I learned that as a first time owner, it's probably better to get a 2nd hand car instead. I've read recommendations about japanese cars for their reliability. So this is what I've been looking for recently. But I am very open to other suggestions.

I was browsing the FB marketplace and saw a 2010 honda jazz at 385k and thought it was too expensive for such an old car? I also saw a 2014 honda city at 530k. So most probably I'm just being naive?

Getting a brand new car isn't out out the question yet - mostly for the guaranteed warranty and buying convenience. Instead of the 2020 jazz as our first, maybe the cheaper ones like the soluto, brio, dzire, reina would be better? I am not sure if it's worth it though.

You can tell I am confused af and cannot make up my mind yet so please enlighten me.

We don't have any specific requirements, it can be a sedan, suv, crossover, or whatever. Just something to get us from point a to point b during this pandemic. A balance between value for money and reliability. We live and work in Batangas btw.

P.S. How much do you pay a "trusted" mechanic?

2. Join Date
    Mar 2008
    if you can comfortably afford a brand new car, then by all means, get a brand new car.

advantages of B/N car:
    1. "it's perfect". or should be so. you can concentrate more on the driving part.
    2. enroll the car in comprehensive insurance, even if paid in full. it will come in handy in the unlikely event of a fender-bender.
    3. clean ownership.
    4. warranty. in case of factory error.