New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Mar 2008
    [SIZE=3]tsikoteers,
    hello. Need help here.
    A friend is trying to sell me a BMW. I have no experience whatsoever on BMWs. The cars look interesting.
    [/SIZE]
    • [SIZE=3]The first car is a '91 BMW 3 series (Touring) E30 with M50 fuel injected[/SIZE]

[SIZE=3]
    [/SIZE]
    • [SIZE=3]The other car is a '91 BMW 5 series (Touring) E34 with M52 engine[/SIZE]

[SIZE=3]

Any general advice. Are this good cars for a first timer? What are the common problems with this generation cars? Engine, suspension, exterior? Things to look out for?
    Sasakit ba ulo ko dito?
    Maraming salamat po.
    [/SIZE]

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by busdriver View Post
    Any general advice. Are this good cars for a first timer?
    Generally no. European cars in the philippines take a bit more money to maintain well whatever the brand. Reason is parts are not as cheap nor as easy to find as more common japanese brand cars.

Also note that you are looking at a couple of 18 year old cars. BMW or not, they will require a certain minimum level of maintenance just to run smoothly.
    Last edited by ghosthunter; August 2nd, 2009 at 06:31 PM.

3. Join Date
    Dec 2004
    arent those two pics both of the e34 variant? i'm an e30 user and as far as i know, e30s don't have their turn signals beside the low beam lenses.

4. Join Date
    Feb 2005
    *Darren: ghosthunter is correct. You and I know (being European car users) age and premium = cost. You have such a fine european car now. Why not use and enjoy it first? No offense partner pero one can only drive so much. There is no sense of satisfaction when your attention is split in two. masakit pa nito, sure ka sa oto mo ngayon pero what if the 2nd (regardless of european brand) is a pain in the a%#? In the end, you would loose your appetite on both cars.