New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    May 2006
    hi,

i probably use my car every other day, not so heavy driving, its a 5 year old corolla with (ive been told) very good engine, and i'd like it to stay that way :-) beyond driving, im lculess how to maintain it. i figured i should start learning how to take care of my car... im really new at taking care of cars and so i woud like to ask for your advice.

apologies for the excessive questions.

1. i was told i should have tune ups every 6 mos- correct?
    2. i was told my car needs rustproofing- can anyone recommend a good shop? is there a significant diff. between 3m and dupont which one shop tells me are my options? one shop offers it at 2,200 for the 3M option. Is that a good price?
    3. how often should i get a wheel rotation and alignment? any shop suggestions would be great.

my car's dark green and it looks like the color's lightening up and dull (even after a wash and wax!) i'd like to make it shiny so i was researching on buffing and read one of the older threads re: diamond gloss and polishing and sealants. my questions are-
    4. is buffing the same as polishing (via autodetailing shop)? the buffing i canvassed charged 1,800 (mahal ba?) in case they're different, can polishing removed scratches?
    5. are there any other DIY ways other than having a shop do it? like applying a certain liquid or something?
    6. for a 5 year old car, i think the DG of ziebart is too expensive? but what othr paint protection can i opt for that comes with a reasonable price? i think i need to do something to protect the paint because unfortunately the car's not regularly wash or waxed as much as i want