New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Hi guys, I'm just a new driver and I have read about the adverse effects of riding the clutch. Anyway, my question is this :

1. Is it ok to step on the clutch pedal while braking when decelarating?

2. Is it ok to step on the clutch pedal IF you're not stepping on the gas pedal?

TIA Veteran Drivers!!!

2. Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by r1chm0nd View Post
    Hi guys, I'm just a new driver and I have read about the adverse effects of riding the clutch. Anyway, my question is this :

1. Is it ok to step on the clutch pedal while braking when decelarating?

2. Is it ok to step on the clutch pedal IF you're not stepping on the gas pedal?

TIA Veteran Drivers!!!
    Di ako super veteran driver, but:

1. It's probably better to step on the clutch pedal when your RPM is nearing under 1000. Engine braking helps further slow your car down and puts less wear on the brakes.

2. Is this at a stop? If so, ok lang naman but if you're at a stop, might as well put the car in neutral.

I read somewhere that the clutch should either be depressed fully or not at all for maximum clutch longevity. Keeping the clutch pedal anywhere in between for more than a small amount of time (or "riding" the clutch) isn't such a good practice yata.

3. Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by mda View Post
    Di ako super veteran driver, but:

1. It's probably better to step on the clutch pedal when your RPM is nearing under 1000. Engine braking helps further slow your car down and puts less wear on the brakes.

2. Is this at a stop? If so, ok lang naman but if you're at a stop, might as well put the car in neutral.