New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Holy Sh!t

Less than 10 seconds?

Jesus Christ anong modifications ng Vios mo?

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by niky View Post
    Sub-10 seconds? Bull. I've been doing acceleration testing for the past 5 years... and that claim just makes me laugh.

I've driven various ZZ-powered Toyotas. I've tested various methods of launching. And there's no way of getting below 10 seconds on a stock 1.3.

A stock 1.3 is within the 12-13 second range if you drive it right. The slow 20-80 time is because he wasn't "launching", meaning he had to slog through the entire first gear. To get anywhere under 12 seconds, you have to launch at a catastrophic 5000+ rpms on the tachometer and slip the clutch brutally to keep the engine spinning through first gear and up into the powerband right away.

Maybe someone flat-shifting through the transmission will get near 11... on a cool day with a fresh engine and a stripped interior. Someone who doesn't care about grinding the transmission to dust. But under 10 seconds? Whoever claims that can set an appointment with us at Speedlab for V-Box testing. Hell... let's put money on the table on the results... shall we?
    Hey! Do I hear a bet for a stock Vios 1.3E (factory equipped as-is) to do sub 10 seconds 0-100kph?

My money is on Niky. (niky! you're treating us for pizza)

When do we test? (not that we haven't done enough in the past)....
    Last edited by ghosthunter; May 26th, 2011 at 12:03 AM.

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by Starex_Gold View Post
    Holy Sh!t

Less than 10 seconds?

Easy lang yan.... downhill yung track, parang yung flyover sa edsa/ortigas, towards greenhills. hehehe

4. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by Starex_Gold View Post
    Holy Sh!t

Less than 10 seconds?