New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Guys I have a question, I bought this car last April and 2 weeks ago I had a change oil. What are the things I have to know in car maintenance. I have no idea its my first time to own a car. Pls. give me tips naman like Timing belt when to replace, iyong radiator, muffler, battery may nilalagay diyan di ba? Co-employeer of mine offered me 4 liters of fully synthetic oil (daw) for 1500 only. Just don't know kung may halo. Pero he is insisting na puwede raw iyon sa 97 model car. Sabi kasi nung sa shell na mekaniko pag old cars daw di na puwede synthetic. Is it true na di na puwede and full synthetic for old cars? TIPS PLEASE

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    I'd suggest sticking to regular mineral oil (20W-40) and just change your oil every 5,000kms. The thicker oil is suggested for older car as there are lesser chances it will leak out through the old gaskets in your engine.

As a matter of precaution, change your timing belt (use an original timing belt then for the tensioner bearings, go for the Koyo brand). Change all your fluids (brake, coolant, gear, PS) and your fuel and air filters as well, clean the brakes, check the belts, hoses, underchassis, etc. A compression test can also help to check of your engine is in a healthy state.

3. Join Date
    Apr 2009
    thanks so much

4. Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by vinj View Post
    I'd suggest sticking to regular mineral oil (20W-40) and just change your oil every 5,000kms. The thicker oil is suggested for older car as there are lesser chances it will leak out through the old gaskets in your engine.