New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Hi

noob here, My new car has no safety features at all except seatbelt. Being a family man i would love to have a safety feature in my car specially if im driving with my family...you'll never know. my question is can i buy an abs brake or an airbag or whatever saftey feature that TOTL has and install it in my car?

replies are very much appreciated.

thank you*
    DDDDDDD

2. Join Date
    May 2010
    Sad to say, retrofitting to install an Anti-lock braking system or airbags would cost you money and might not be a perfect fit. If you want to be a safe driver, drive safely and carefully, since you have a family.

3. Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Alam ko hindi pwede magadd on ng abs

4. Join Date
    Jun 2005
    assuming possible, retrofitting might be too close to the actual depreciated value of your car. better sell your current ride and buy a new or second hand with these as standard.

should u want to pursue, there would be no definitive test to check if your conversion will work. you might be looking for more trouble during an emergency.

5. Join Date
    Apr 2007
    IMO sana TOTL nalang binili mo at the first place

Kasi baka mas malaki pa sa price ng TOTL variant yung magagastos mo pag pinalagyan mo..

It's not so easy to retrofit ABS, but it's technically possible. Cost is the major issue, so if you're intending to have it for cheap forget it. It doesn't worth to save money on safety features, because a badly-installed safety device will not work properly. BTW there are some mechanical-ABS systems, used in motorcycles and some Chinese vans (Jinbei Haise, Foton, among others), and are quite easy to install - I have even done some mechanical-ABS retrofits...

7. Join Date
    Jul 2010