New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Guys! im a newbie here and im planning to buy a car in October. At first im really inlove with the new civic but i realized all flood, potholes,the long distance drives and the 6 pesos difference of gas to diesel. So i tried looking for diesel alternatives that is within my budget, the typical AUVs came up but they are just not my type, in fact I hate AUVs. So now the SUVs are my target but only the good second hand ones.

Guys, help me decide on what second hand SUVs (diesel) should i buy and is that a good idea over a brand new civic? Currently on my list is a second hand 98 prado diesel M/T, next is the brand new civic.

Is it true that diesel engines last 1M kms?

2. Join Date
    Oct 2005
    for the SUV, the newest Ford Everest you can get.

3. Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Diesel engines are built tougher especially 80s diesel engines, to withstand the high pressure fuel compression nature of the diesel engines.

The Diesel engines of the 80s are made of block IRON, which is tougher than your present day aluminumized diesel engine, But in general present day diesel engines can outlast gas engines, one reason is the lubricating nature of the diesel fuel, less wear and tear for the engine, the high pressure resistant engine block which is usually designed with allowance.

the 1 Million Km is usually for the 80s designed engines, the newer ones, although they can outlast any gas engines, they wont last as long as the old school or 80s designed BI block engines.

4. Join Date
    Jan 2006
    but how about Xuv Crosswind? never owned a crosswind but it's reputation of low fuel comsumption is very good.

what's the engine of that 98 prado diesel M/T?

5. Join Date
    May 2006