New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Aug 2012
    * * * Hello guys!! Certified newbie here especially when it comes to pick-ups and diesel vehicles in general. I read some of the threads and elsewhere but I can’t seem to find the appropriate topic for my query. I just need your inputs to help me decide on something.
    * * * I’m currently considering to replace my sedan with a pick-up truck. The latter would be more practical for me since I stay longer on rough roads than in the city and the diesel charisma is too much for me to pass up. Anyway, I did a modest research on pick-up trucks, that which is best suited to my needs and my top choice is the Mitsubishi Strada, for its car-like comfort, powerful engine, and great value for money. Unfortunately, my budget constraints hinder me from acquiring a brand new one so I think a second hand Strada will suffice. My dilemma is, I need to find an older Strada that has the closest, if not the same, features as the current year model. I’m eyeing the 2006+ (fourth gen?) year models but if the third gens are worth the look then I’ll definitely consider my options. My questions are:

1.***Are all the year models in the fourth gen basically the same?
    2.***Are the third gen models as reliable as the current gen in terms of fuel economy, driving comfort, and maintenance? Because that would mean I get to buy a cheaper one instead of spending too much on a vehicle that has been basically unchanged.* *

* * *I like the current models because of its looks and overall reliability, but I just need a vehicle that can generally cross provincial rough roads without hesitation as well as riding comfort when driving in the city. I prefer the manual 4x2 since I don’t intend to go “serious off-roading”.*