New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Apr 2006
    hi guys,

im just a newbie in the mechanics of car.i went to petron shop offering free inspection on the underchassis.i had been grieving on my frontal suspension part or transmission or absorber.it happened after i accidentally rolled through a set of deep holes.at smooth road, my car seems to move perfectly and smoothly but in some bumps when i dont do it super smooth, i feel and hear some "squeaking" noise in front.i feel that it has something to do with my shock absorber...im not sure though..
    the diagnosis of the petron boys are oil leaks coming from the crankshaft/camshaft, tie rod loose at both ends, rack end problem..
    now these are their estimations:

* labor for suspension?
    replace tie rod : 320
    replace rack end:320
    wheel alignment:450

*materials for suspension?(not original daw)
    tie rod : 3250
    rack end:3770

*labor for oil leak
    pull down transmission:1800
    *materials
    crankshaft oil seal:1014
    camshaft oil seal:975

he also added these :
    timing belt(orig):4940
    tensioner:2145

1. i'm just a newbie here.please comments
    if the estimations are reasonable or if you have a
    recommended shop near quezon city or fairview
    or nearby cities...
    2. i'm not sure if my timing belt was changed by the previous owner.
    how will i know when to change it?
    3. how much does a preventive maintenance costs?

my auto specs: 95hondacivicesi/91,000km/MT

2. Join Date
    Dec 2005
    bro, dalhin mo na lang sa ZEE sa aurora blvd. look for mang toti. mabait yun. mas mura aabutin nung sayo. yung sa akin, halos pareho ng sayo, 3.5K petot lang lahat.

3. Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by aceshark