New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Hi everyone.

I'm new here. This is also my first time to own a (2nd hand) car. So I solicit your patience to this very dumb question. :D

I got my car (colored green) scratched by about 3 inches near the left front wheel. Why, I'm a new driver. ;) Anyway, I'm looking at getting it fixed. The car paint company I asked about yesterday said, the only way to bring the paint back is to paint the whole panel so that the color spread will be balanced! Is that right? I mean, the scratch is just 3 inches.

Also, can you recommend a good car paint company that can help me out on this? Preferably in Mandaluyong/Makati/San Juan area.

Thanks.

2. Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Welcome to tsikot.com!

Don't worry, no question is too dumb to answer (pero pag nagtanong ka kung anong hugis ng gulong......hehehehe). May mga new drivers din dito, meron pa ngang mag-aaral pa lang mag-drive eh, so it's cool.

Three inches yung gasgas mo. Is this the length or the breadth of the damage? Whether the panel has to be repainted or not depends on how extensive the damage is. I once scratched my ride in two places, the steel body and polypropelene bumper. Yung sa body, nadaan sa buffing. Yung sa bumper, I had to bring it to a Mitsubishi painter para maayos. Medyo malalim kasi yun e.

Have you tried buffing it with Turtle Wax Scratch and Stain Remover, or a rubbing compound? Might work for that scratch, especially kung hindi naman malalim. If the damage is not that long, maybe you can have the original color mixed at an auto paint shop, tapos apply mo na lang using a small brush (yung pang-nail polish maganda for really small scratches).
    Last edited by Bogeyman; September 29th, 2004 at 01:37 PM.

3. Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Thanks Bogeyman!