New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    May 2009
    Hi guys...

I was one of the unlucky ones who was a victim of Ondoy last year. In that case, I have no choice but to sell my old but reliable 93 lancer glxi for a mind-boggling el cheapo price. Anyway, since I have a car way back 2nd year college, medyo mahirap pala kapag nasanay ka na may kotse for years tapos bigla mawawala. I thought it would be fine but now I'm beginning to miss having a car lalo na kung umuulan at mahirap sumakay.

The problem here, I'm just a call center agent so I need to save hard for every peso I can para makabili ng kotse ulit.

With proper computation, my budget would be 150-170k. And the choice would be the ff:

1. 2001 Opel Astra
    2. 2000 Nissan FE
    3. 1993 Lancer GLXI
    4. 1997 Lancer EL
    5. 1997 Toyota Corolla
    6. 1993 Galant
    7. 97-98 Nissan Cefiro
    8. Any other suggestion?

With the choice above, I'm leaning towards Opel Astra. Aside from being Euro, I find it the most fresh I could get for my budget (In my opinion ofcourse). Based on the research I made, medyo hati yung feedback. What I need from you guys is your honest / un-bias opinion. I know, marami thread pero most of the response is somewhat outdated (2006 pa).

- I'm not after the speed (or let's say not a priority)
    - I've seen this car before sa mall and medyo na pa head turn ako, parang sosi ang dating. Hehehe.
    - I'm aware na medyo mahirap at mahal ang parts.
    - I think Astra has airbag so a big plus for the budget.

By the way guys, I don't have the cash right now pa. Actually, I'm still saving for it. Pero ako kase yung tipo na mas nakaka ipon ng seryoso kapag andun na yung "mindset" sa bibilin ko. So as early as now, gusto ko mag research ng sobra.

Thanks in advance guys...

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    In my opinion about the Opel Astra

-cramp interior