New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Aug 2009
    [SIZE=2]Hello guys... I'm a newbie and it's my first attempt to own an SUV, brought about by a growing family (physiologically, that is!). I am considering a Nissan Patrol after feedback from a trusted mechanic that Patrol has the best suspension and engine, and after he effectively scared me of high maintenance cost in owning a Pajero.

I found an 03 Patrol that's really fresh. I was told its engine has been replaced with a totally new one, c/o Nissan North EDSA. Papers and clearances are in order. The reason for having a new engine installed, I was told, is because the previous one broke down after severe overheating. I am buying from a reputable, huge pre-owned car dealership in Pasig. Assuming all papers are in order and that according to my mechanic the engine and drivetrain are both ok, is this a good buy at 950k? 5-speed manual, 3.0L TDi engine, 4x2, misty blue, btw. Since I have a driver, I opted for manual versus automatic. My typical trips are along South Expressway, weekends in Baguio, Tagaytay, a occasionally photo treks to the Northern territories (Ilocos, etc.).

Will appreciate your tips, especially from Patrol owners. I tried reading all the posts and already found a lot of good ideas. I hope this is the best way to get good advice from auto experts in this forum.

Thanks in advance!

Noogy

[/SIZE]
    Last edited by Noogy; August 25th, 2009 at 12:00 PM. Reason: incomplete first sentence

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    i think that's a good buy considering bago ang engine. pero baka matawaran mo pa ng onti, lets say 850-900k.

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    If you are really concerned about the fuel consumption, you wouldn't even consider a Nissan Patrol. Diesel or not, it's a big heavy vehicle and it will consume a lot of fuel to get anywhere.