New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Jan 2003
    hi,

am a newbie here and im actually doing this for my dad. he has a 96 pajero and he frequently drives from manila to legazpi and all the way to leyte. he swears by his truck, but he wants to bring its performance higher. he wants to plunk in a 2800 engine and at the same time he wants to bring back the suspension system to its original condition. questions

1. will you recommend the engine upgrade? is the diff noticeable?
    2. is the engine upgrade an easy job?
    3.. where can you buy an engine
    4. who can you recommend to do it?
    5. who can rebuild suspension?
    6. where can we buy suspension parts?

thanks a lot in advance for your answers

cheers,
    issiozzi

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Woodfire already did a 4M40 swap on his Pajero. And it was not an easy task. Pati yata transfer case and some chassis crossmembers pinalitan. Unless you really want to get into a big project, forget about the engine swap. Hahanapin ko yung number ni woodfire so that you can personally ask him.

As for upgrading the engine (instead of replacing), ginawa na din ni woodfire iyan sa GEN II Strada niya. Free flow exhaust system (by Freemuff) tapos nilagyan niya ng K&N open type filter and a Turbo XS manual boost controller. Personally, this is the way I'd like to do my rig (except for the open filter part, mahilig ako lumusong ng ilog, eh).

Why rebuild the suspension? Replacing the ball joints, idler arm and pitman arm will already do wonders. Tapos switch over to better shocks like KYB Gas (for budget build ups) or OME and Rancho shocks if you have the cash. Suspension parts can be had in Mit Parts Banawe (OEM and 555) or you can head on over to Glenn10's shop in Kamias.

http://docotep.multiply.com/
    Need an Ambulance? We sell Zic Brand Oils and Lubricants. Please PM me.

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002