New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by moneywhiz View Post
    Snooty, elitism attitude is more likely exhibited by Fil-ams who were educated and born in the US then took up bachelor/masters degree in the philippines. i know this because i studied in a medical school with a huge number of Fil-am students....

most of my Fil-am friends/ relatives who were born here in the US exhibit a snooty elitism attitute towards the Fresh Off the Boat friends from the Philippines calling us "You native Filipinos" with degrading accents....

most recent Filipino immigrants to the US are more timid and submissive compared to Fil-ams born in the US.....i have a lot of FOB and Fil am friends here in NYC and that is where i based my observation.....

i honestly do not know where you observed that snooty elitism attitute of filipinos educated in the philippines
    Maybe you didn't. I did personally and these people were bad-mouthing other schools from the Philippines in hushed tones. Then, they also had to gall to ask a complete list of where I studied in the Philippines. I'm assuming they're "fresh off the boat" (never used the term before). But, they were asking questions I would never ask except my own relatives.

It's true most newcomers to the US are decent and my apologies if I offended anyone in such a group. But, it's always the few bad apples everyone tend to remember.

I did spend HS and some college in the Philippines. I do know firsthand that elitist attitude is fairly widespread: