New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Well, its not actually our car but the Corolla XE AE101 issued to my mom brand new on Dec 1993 then returned it to the office on Jan 2001 really sucks! Power steering fluid servo hose (i dunno how you guys call it), bursted twice. First in Rustan's Makati and the 2nd in front of our house. Nagkalat ang PS fluid, kakahiya! Because of the Financial Crisis, in line with the gov't project to lessen expenses, SEC decided to sell all its AE101 Corollas (XE and GLis) to all its officials (which includes my mom) who are using these cars. The official car of my mom had only 83,000+++ when she gave it back to the office before I graduated highschool. They were selling it to us for 110,000 No way! also the blue paint was so dull. My parents, didnt buy it even if its casa maintained. We settled for an AE111 Corolla. my mom was still using the Ae101 corolla when we bought the AE111 coz she knows that it will not last long. Hehehhehe

2. Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Maybe just the power steering system issue, not to mention the notchy gearshift. But hey, the AE101/EE100 are the best in their class. They have good economy and very reliable elsewhere. The suspension is ideal for our bad road conditions, albeit the front ground clearance being relatively high. The GLi can also measure up against all 1.6 without variable valve timing.

As for cars that sucked, it will have to be my friend's 95 Volvo 850 GLT A/T wagon. Other than good space and safety, it's a loser everywhere. The engine is buzzy, drinks fuel and can't quite get away from a stock Civic VTi A/T. The gearbox is clumsy and inaccurate in shifting. Rattles are also prevalent in the univiting cabin, especially at the tailgate. Steering and suspension feel is nowhere near extraordinary, thus no driver rewards. An Accord is much more fun.