New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jan 2014
    hi folks!

just bought a 123 230e 84 model with manual tranny.

im new to benz in a way and i would love to tinker with it and to make my tank run on more years on the road with me.

love to get my hands dirty while taking care of my pet, just change the differential oil (SAE 90 -is this correct?)

checked the tranny, oil level and color condition - still good/acceptable - including other parts that needs oil.

on to my question, i would like to know what type of engine oil is best suited for her engine? 20w-40?

tia!

jay

2. Join Date
    Jul 2006
    20W40 is okay for M102.

Manual gearbox oil is ATF (as stated in the manual), not gear oil.

Rear diff oil is SAE 90.

Here's a good link on how to replace your diff oil. Mercedes Rear Differential Fluid Change

Feel free to ask here if you have further questions. A bunch of MBCP guys including me, are also members of Tsikot.

Congrats on your "new" Benz.

3. Join Date
    Jan 2014
    thnx for the info, really appreciate it bro!

already did on the diff oil. i think the seal is leaking, just on one side. i guess its better to replace both seals?

when got home, checked all the oils that need to be check by myself going down on her
    1) engine oil - good condition
    2) transmission oil - good condition
    3) differential oil - replaced oil (used 90W)
    4) power steering fluid - good condition
    5) break fluid - needs to be flush - will do this, need to buy first sets of rear break pads when i go to manila - whats the best with a good price on the brand for these you could recommend?
    6) air filter - needs to be replace
    7) carb oil - yaiks! almost dry - filled her up with ATF (saw details on this matter at MBCP forum - thnx peeps at MBCP!)

will check again the mechanical parts, same time learning the stuff .....