New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Aug 2008
    I'm a newbie to cars in general. I havent been interested in cars although my family had a few back in the day. My appreciation to the car was just the "hatid-sundo" kind of ride. I never actually really cared about cars (since i was into other things when i was growing up) until now when my company will be giving me my own car as an incentive.

I've been reading through the threads and I'm amazed of all the car owners and enthusiasts who really love their cars. I'm truly inspired. That is why I want to go through the process on how to shop for a car, although i'm already decided on getting a Mazda 3 1.6L V sedan. With this, i need help on some very basic (noob) concerns:
    1. Dealer Aftersales - ive already visited the Mazda dealer in Makati. I was totally clueless what to ask other than the basic features of a car. I let the SA do the talking. The sales pitch was very nice and pleasant but what im also interested in is the aftersales service. I heard that Greenhills and Makati dealers are rivals. I just want to know from the Mazda owners which dealer they like best (sales and aftersales) and which dealer do they recommend?
    2. Freebies - What are the basic/standard accessories or freebies that come with the package (included in the quote)? Should i haggle for more? If so, what other free items do you think i can get (other than the discounts)? Per my SA, i only get 10 liters gas-in upon delivery (not the full tank as some have experienced) since he said the gas fill-up is charged to him or to the SAs.
    3. What items or features do i need to check before i acknowledge/receive/take possession of the car from the dealer? Although i read this link from a forum (http://www.theintarweb.org/cars/NewCarChecklist.pdf) but its too anal.