New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 4 of 16 FirstFirst 1234567814 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by x_outpost View Post
    You also admitted that you are "cheap" - which is a relevant term.
    I also eat fishballs and isaw, ride the jeep and take the bus. That's relevant too, right?

As a car-guy (and I've been driving since I was 10 years old) - I don't think I would agree on that. Your logic doesn't make sense. If it is, why would people buy expensive cars???? I've owned a few dozen cars from my hard earned money and every car drives differently (FYI, I've owned Hondas, Toyotas, Mitsus, Ford, Chrysler, Nissan, Infiniti, Lexus, Mercedes, Audi, BMW, Porsche, VW, Acura, Mazda, and a Lotus - even cars of the same brand drive differently. And yes, even if you blindfold me, I can tell you which car is which from the way it drives, even from the way it smells).

I know we all have personal opinion and you are entitled but sadly, I don't agree that all cars are the same or buying a premium car is silly.
    I would like to know what premium car you have bought in the past so you can justify that buying a premium car is silly.
    I'm not going to pretend I'm a bigwig. I come from a rich family, but I am content with being personally poor. I've seen how people chase premium ownership while being barely able to afford the running costs, and it's sobering. Out here, a "poverty-spec" Mercedes or BMW costs more than a house. The maintenance and insurance costs of their top-of-the-line models are more expensive than a cheap car. Forgive me for saying so, but building apartments is a more practical use of that money (which is what I did and am doing with mine). After each flood, my Crosswind requires 0 pesos worth of repairs. The 7-series down the block? About three-quarters of a million pesos. Who wins there?