New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Aug 2011
    ask lang advise sa mga expertise dyan about RPM.... my dad said that when you change gear dapat e a.bot sa saktong RPM before changing to high gear lets say 1st gear dapat rpm mo hang.gang 4 or 40kph .... para daw hindi ma over run? is this true? para namang hindi maka hinga yong makina ng dmax ... were using manual transmission of course dmax yong onang version hindi 4x4..

pls advise.

2. Join Date
    Mar 2011

Sir Jo, i'm no expert in driving, but i've always been a manual-tranny driver.... and like it more than anything.

i happen to be that type that doesn't like straining my engine, say by short-shifting (not fond of it), or just revving unsubstantially in ascents prior to upshifting ---- in fact i hate lazy drivers; you hear their transmissions jarring up because they are shifted higher than what's supposed they should be and yet they push the pedal low. This way, they tend to lose transmission oil pressure in their cranks - an indication why the crank is jarring.

In level roads, in a relax-phase, and in between gears, i usually rev as high as 2000 rpm before upshisting so that i'm around 1500 rpm (at the least) at the onset of the next higher-gear. As you know, by paper specs, the optimum torque of the Philippine-DMax starts early at 1400 rpm and extends way beyond along the rev range. In loads and going uphills or traversing a mountainous road, of course, i rev "conditionally" higher than usual. i actively downshift in tight hairpins or switchbacks as well and then upshift at a higher rpm. Moreover, i also apply engine-braking "to some extent" while descending a mountainous road.

Kind regards.

3. Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by jocernver View Post