New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 2 of 118 FirstFirst 1234561252102 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jun 2004
    I drive one. Okay not the exact same one but pretty close. I have an Isuzu Adventure Master Elegance here in Bangkok as my company car. It shares the same chassis, engine (3.0l TDIC, 146bhp), and interior (save for the 3rd row seats – my rig’s 3rd row seats are way better) as that of the MU-7/Alterra.

Key difference would include the ff.
    1. The spare tire on my rig is at the back (tail gate) of the vehicle and not under as that of the MU-7/Alterra. This is where the leg space of the 3rd row seats on my rig comes from.
    2. The IAME (I abbreviated the name. Haba eh!) have “real” 3rd row seats. The 3rd row seats on the MU-7/Alterra are a joke. Quite similar in appearance to the 3rd row seats of the CRV when it was taking advantage of a tax loophole.
    3. Rear quarter body/glass design

Believe it or not, I chose this over the Fortuner. Why? Simply because I needed a 4x4 vehicle which can comfortably fit myself, wife, 3 kids, and 2 nannies. The IAME fits the bill perfectly.

No doubt on my mind that the Fortuner has a better, more powerful (163 bhp), and a lot quieter engine. Body design is as well a lot better for me personally. The only downside is the rig is a bit too narrow for my needs. The 3rd row jump seats leave much to be desired as well – although better than the 3rd row seats of the MU-7/Alterra if you ask me. I think the Fortuner can only fit 6 pax comfortably.

I’ve had this rig here a little over 5 months now. Quite happy with the engine – pulling power is great. It can cruise comfortably along Thailand’s long and wide highways at 140kph for hours on end without a sweat. Top speed I’ve reached so far is 160kph (slight downhill). Fuel consumption is very good. I average 10-12km/liter in downtown Bangkok where traffic can get very heavy.