New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Hi guys newbie here! I would really appreciate your inputs. I own a 01 trooper 4x2 A/T. it has 87,000 kms on it. This morning its ckeck trans warning light started blinking. It also had a hard time pulling away from full stops.
    When I brought it to our mechanic, he started the car and the check trans light was gone, and it was shifting properly. he said turning off the car reset the tranny compbox. Everything seems to be working fine now.

Have any of you experienced the same problem? What was the cause & solution?

Thanks in advance

2. Join Date
    May 2007
    You probably lost enough fluid to overheat it. I'd get it drained and filled and go from there.

This may sound's stup*d. Have your mechanic test your alternator, also see if if your power steering fluid leaking into the alternator. again, unbelievable but true.

3. Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Thanks for the reply V6dreamer. The A/T fluid was fine.

BUT:
    "This may sound's stup*d. Have your mechanic test your alternator, also see if if your power steering fluid leaking into the alternator. again, unbelievable but true."

I have been loosing power steering fluid! How does this affect the alternator? And how does the alternator affect the tranny? Sorry for the stupid questions but I am realy at a loss

4. Join Date
    May 2007
    Have your power steering fix and see if your alternator soak with steering fluid that leaks out. If it does... that is the problem.

5. Join Date
    Jun 2006